Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish + Skin Tonic Review

by beautyofhistory

Liz Earle are possibly my favourite skin care brand which I have tried, tested, rambled on about and recommended to friends. A British brand started by Liz Earle have produced some outstanding skin care products which work on a variety of skin types and ages. In this review I am looking at two of the products I currently own which are staples in my skin care routine which are the Cleanse and Polish and the Instant Boost Skin Tonic.

So let’s start with the packaging. I love the calming light blue/green on this tube. It instantly makes you feel as though what you are about to apply is going to be a calming experience for you and this definitely represents the product inside. I currently own the 200ml Cleanse and Polish because I feel the 100ml is not enough for me and I prefer a tube to the classic pump dispenser they also produce. I like to get a feel for when a product is running low and I generally found it difficult to tell when the cleanser was running out with the pump style bottle. The tonic on the other hand comes in one style and I personally think it is a great looking bottle. For some reason it does give off  connotations of it being a tonic and the twist up lid allows you to apply a precise amount of toner.

Getting into the more important aspects of these products I will now explain that you have to have the muslin cloths that do come with some collections of Liz Earle and ensure a better cleansing experience. The cleanser is creamy in texture and quite thick which can be off putting for those who are more used to thinner or foaming cleansers. It removes make up and impurities very well including water proof mascara, and with a second smaller cleanse you can ensure you have thoroughly removed everything. I love the way my skin feels after using this cleanser and even with having oily/acne prone skin it does not break me out or affect my other acne treatments. After cleansing the Tonic is the next step which is a brilliantly simple application- just apply a few drops to cotton wool and wipe over the face. I cannot emphasise enough how important this step is and the heavenly scent takes the chore out of toning. I genuinely think that this cleansing routine is the most effective, balanced and beautifully constructed out of any similar brands out there.

Not forgetting the incredibly important naturally active ingredients which give their name to this cleansing system are Chamomile, Rosemary, Cucumber and Eucalyptus Oil. Eucalyptus oil has been used historically to treat medical pains as well as colds and fevers by Australian Aboriginals.

 

